The Quilters Garden Blog

What piece of advice would you like to share with our beginner quilters.

Posted on: April 4, 2010

The tip I share most often with my fellow beginner quilters is to use spray baste instead of pins. I lay the backing out on the table wrong side up and clamp it or tape it down taught. I lay and center the batting on top of the back. The batting is usually a tad bit smaller than the back. I fold half of the batting back over itself and spray it. (I only use 505 spray baste). You don’t need to spray on a lot. I fold that back down on the backing and gently rub it from the center outward toward the edges. If you see a pucker, you can peel it up and set it back down again. I repeat this for the other half of the batting. I lay and center the quilt top right side up on top of the batting. The top is smaller than the batting and backing. I fold back the quilt top over itself and spray it, repeating the same process as I did for the batting. When the top looks nice I unclamp the quilt and flip it over and examine the back for any puckers. I gently rub from the center outwards. Wa La, it’s ready to quilt. Every time a customer comes in for pins and I share this with them, they come back as fans of the method and throw the safety pins away. This saves so much time and no more back ache.

What tip do you want to share!

Leave a comment

The Quilters Garden

Welcome to The Quilters Garden blog! We are a quilt shop located in Fenton, Michigan. You can find out more about us at our website at www.thequiltersgarden.com

Blog Stats

  • 12,587 hits